Dog Bike Trailer Comparison: Manufacturer Specs Side by Side
Nine dog bike trailers, one table of manufacturer specifications
Capacity, interior size, trailer weight, wheels, folding, stroller conversion and hitch notes for popular trailers, taken only from the manufacturers’ own pages. Where a maker does not publish a figure, the table says so.
Most “best dog bike trailer” lists mix retailer blurbs, estimates and figures copied from other lists. This comparison does one thing differently: every number below was read from the manufacturer’s product page, support page or manual on the date shown, and anything we could not find is marked Not specified rather than guessed. Use it alongside the size calculator (to know what interior dimensions you need) and the comparison tool (to check any other trailer you are considering).
A weight capacity is a limit, not a fit. A 100 lb rating does not mean a 70 lb dog can lie down inside. Compare interior length with your dog’s nose-to-tail-base measurement first, then height, then capacity. The weight limits explainer covers why.
The comparison table
| Trailer | Rated capacity | Interior L × W × H | Trailer weight | Wheels | Folds / stroller | Hitch and notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burley Bark Ranger | 75 lb (34 kg) | 36.2 × 16.7 × 24.2 in | 26.6 lb | 20 in | Folds to 36.5 × 23.8 × 11.5 in; 1-wheel stroller kit included | Tow bar with steel hitch; thru-axle adapter sold separately. Aluminium roll cage, parking brake, flag included. |
| Burley Bark Ranger XL | 100 lb (45 kg) | 36.2 × 22.4 × 29.9 in | 33 lb | 20 in | Folds to 36.5 × 28 × 12.8 in; stroller kit included | As above; the wider, taller cabin is the one for big dogs. |
| Burley Tail Wagon | 75 lb (page also says “designed for dogs up to 70 lb”) | 32.5 × 17.3 × 21.1 in | 21 lb | 16 in | Folds to 35.5 × 25.8 × 11 in; no stroller mode | Tow bar with steel hitch; roll cage and mesh panels; no internal leash loops since the 2023 redesign. |
| DoggyRide Novel | 110 lb maximum loading capacity; shoulder height up to 26 in | 31.5 × 21 × 25.5 in (order of dimensions not labelled by the maker) | 30 lb | 20 in (20 × 1.75 tyre) | Folds (size not stated); optional jogger-stroller set | Tow arm connects to a rear rack (Britch) or hub; maker describes the rack connection as the option for e-bikes. “Meets or exceeds ASTM standards” per maker. |
| DoggyRide Mini | 55 lb maximum loading capacity; shoulder height up to 15 in | 23 × 15 × 19 in | 21 lb | 16 in (16 × 1.75 tyre) | Folds (size not stated); optional jogger-stroller kit | Hub connection not for e-bikes or hub gears; rack adapter available. Small-dog trailer. |
| PetSafe Happy Ride, Medium | Dogs up to 50 lb | 26 × 17 × 20 in (inside cab) | Not specified | Not specified | Collapses for storage; stroller: Not specified | Quick-connect hitch; not for tricycles. Safety tether, reflectors, ventilated windows. |
| PetSafe Happy Ride, Large | Dogs up to 110 lb | 33 × 22 × 26 in (inside cab) | Not specified | Not specified | Collapses for storage; stroller: Not specified | As above. Regional listings quote different capacities, so check the exact model you are buying. |
| Retrospec Rover Waggin’ | 50 lb | 30 × 19 × 17 in | Not specified | 16 in (air-filled, moulded nylon wheels) | Folds (size not stated); no stroller mode | Fits 20–29 in bike wheels; maker says not recommended for thru-axle bikes and to check with your e-bike maker before towing. |
| Schwinn Rascal | One pet up to 50 lb | Not specified (overall size 53.35 × 25.8 × 26.4 in) | Not specified | Not specified (air-filled) | Folding frame, quick-release wheels; no stroller mode | Universal coupler for “most adult bikes”; internal leash, flag, bug screen, washable non-slip lining. |
Sources: burley.com (Bark Ranger, Tail Wagon), dutchdogdesign.com (DoggyRide Novel, Mini), support.petsafe.net (Happy Ride Aluminum), retrospec.com (Rover Waggin’), schwinnbikes.com (Rascal). Checked 23 October 2026. Manufacturers change specifications; confirm on their page before buying.
How to read the table for your dog
Interior length
Measure your dog from nose tip to the base of the tail while standing, then add about 4 in (10 cm). That is the smallest stated interior length worth considering. A 24 in dog therefore wants roughly 28 in or more; a 40 in Labrador needs the 36 in class, which in this table means the Bark Ranger models.
Interior height
Compare the stated height with your dog’s seated head height (or shoulder height plus about 3 in). Two trailers with the same capacity can differ by 5 in in height; the Bark Ranger XL is almost 6 in taller than the standard Bark Ranger for exactly this reason.
Capacity
The rating must be above your dog’s weight, with any gear that rides inside added. Treat it as a ceiling. DoggyRide quotes a “maximum loading capacity”, which may include cargo; PetSafe quotes “dogs up to”; Burley quotes a plain capacity. The wording differs, so do not assume the numbers are directly comparable.
Wheels and trailer weight
20 in wheels roll over bumps more easily than 16 in and carry weight better, which is why the large-dog models use them. Trailer weight matters for what you tow: a 33 lb trailer plus a 90 lb dog is over 120 lb behind your bike. The best bike for towing guide explains what that asks of your brakes and gears.
Hitches
Three of the nine makers say something about thru-axles or e-bikes, and all three point the same way: a standard axle-mount hitch is designed for quick-release axles, and thru-axle or e-bike owners need an adapter or a rack-mount system. Run the bicycle compatibility checklist before ordering any of these.
Grouped by what you are looking for
These are neutral groupings from the specifications above, not rankings.
- Longest floors (dogs that need to lie flat): Burley Bark Ranger and Bark Ranger XL (36.2 in). PetSafe Happy Ride Large is next at 33 in, then the Tail Wagon at 32.5 in and DoggyRide Novel at 31.5 in.
- Tallest cabins: Bark Ranger XL (29.9 in), then Happy Ride Large (26 in), Novel (25.5 in), Bark Ranger (24.2 in).
- Lightest to tow: Tail Wagon and DoggyRide Mini (21 lb), Bark Ranger (26.6 lb), Novel (30 lb). PetSafe, Retrospec and Schwinn do not publish a trailer weight.
- Small-dog cabins: DoggyRide Mini (23 × 15 × 19 in) and PetSafe Happy Ride Medium (26 × 17 × 20 in). The small-dog guide discusses when a basket is the better choice.
- Stroller conversion included: Bark Ranger and Bark Ranger XL. DoggyRide offers it as an optional set. Tail Wagon, Rover Waggin’ and Rascal are bike-only.
- Published folded size: only Burley publishes folded dimensions for all three of its trailers. If storage is tight, that transparency is useful in itself; see the storage guide.
Where to check current price and availability
We do not display prices because they change constantly. The links below open the Amazon listing for each model where we found one, so you can check the current price, colour and size options. We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
- Burley Bark Ranger on Amazon
- Burley Tail Wagon on Amazon
- DoggyRide Novel on Amazon
- DoggyRide Mini on Amazon
- PetSafe Happy Ride on Amazon
- Retrospec Rover Waggin' on Amazon
- Schwinn Rascal on Amazon
Frequently asked questions
Why are some cells “Not specified”?
Because the manufacturer does not publish that figure on its product or support page. Other sites sometimes fill these gaps with retailer numbers or estimates; we would rather you ask the maker or measure the trailer in a shop.
Is a higher capacity always better?
No. Capacity tells you the frame’s limit, not whether the floor is long enough or the entry low enough for your dog. The Tail Wagon and Bark Ranger share a 75 lb rating but differ by almost 4 in in length and 3 in in height.
Which of these fit a thru-axle or e-bike?
Burley sells thru-axle adapters; DoggyRide recommends its rack-mount connection for e-bikes; Retrospec says its trailer is not recommended for thru-axle bikes. For the others, ask the manufacturer. The hitch guide explains the systems.
How often is this table updated?
The date at the top is when the figures were last checked against the manufacturer pages. If you find a figure has changed, use the contact page.


